To engage or not to engage?

When do you say yes to a new opportunity and when do you take a pass?

I have been trying to pause and think before taking on new opportunities or volunteer positions with the hopes of being more purposeful with my time and energy.  This is definitely coming into practice when I look at my extracurriculars at work.

Extracurricular activities at work: participating in or helping to organize an event or campaign for an internal or external charity, club, or social group.

What are the benefits?

  • Increasing your network
  • Making new or strengthening previous connections
  • Stretching leadership and collaboration skills

Things to consider:

  • Am I passionate about what this activity is trying to achieve?
  • What is the role that I need to play?
  • Is this an opportunity to do or try something that I have never done?
  • Who will I be working with?
  • Is this an opportunity to expand my network or work with someone who I would like to learn from and wouldn’t have an opportunity to connect with in my day job?
  • How much time is required?
  • How much time do I have and am I willing to spend on this?
  • Is this an opportunity that just came up or presented itself or something you would search for and seek out?
  • Will this opportunity take away from my responsibilities at work or affect my performance?
  • Will my manager support me in this endeavour?

What is your approach to extracurriculars at work?

6 thoughts on “To engage or not to engage?

  1. pjf says:

    This resonates with me! I never know when one of my commitments is going to be enriching, or become an albatross around my neck. I basically give things a time limit, and if they haven’t been what I had hoped, I move on.

    Like

Leave a comment